The Severity

Children With Developmental Challenges 3(2+1)

Lesson 8 : Physical Disabilities- Neuromotor Impairment

The Severity

Cerebral Palsy can be classified by how severe it’s effects on movement and muscle tone are

  • Severe
  • Moderate
  • Mild

All three areas (movement, body part and severity) are then joined together to classify or describe the type of Cerebral Palsy eg: Severe spastic hemi - plegia.

Types of CP (Based on types of movements)
Cerebral palsy is classified into four broad categories - spastic, athetoid, ataxic, and mixed forms - according to the type of movement disturbance.

  1. Spastic cerebral palsy affects 70 to 80 percent of patients. In this form, there is too much muscle tone or tightness. Movements are stiff, especially in the legs, arms, and/or back. Children with this form of CP move their legs awkwardly, turning in or scissoring their legs as they try to walk. This is the most common form of CP.

  2. Athetoid or dyskinetic cerebral palsy is the form characterized by uncontrolled, slow, and writhing movements. These abnormal movements usually affect the hands, feet, arms, or legs and, in some cases, the muscles of the face and tongue, causing grimacing or drooling.

  3. Ataxic cerebral palsy is a rare form that affects balance and coordination. Affected persons may walk unsteadily with a wide-based gait, placing their feet unusually far apart. It also can produce intention tremor.

  4. Mixed forms of cerebral palsy exist in that it is common for patients to have more than one form of cerebral palsy. The most common combination includes spasticity and athetoid movements but other combinations are possible.
Last modified: Friday, 25 May 2012, 10:39 AM