Human Nutrition 3(3+0)
Lesson 14 : Lipids


Lipids are classified as:

  1. Simple Lipids
    These are esters of fatty acids and glycerol. Oils are liquid at 200 C while fats are solid at 200C.

  2. Compound Lipids
    These lipids contain some other organic compounds, in addition to fatty acids and glycerol they are further categorized as

    1. Phospholipids (Phosphatides)
      These contain phosphoric acid and a nitrogenous base in addition to glycerol and fatty acids. Lecithin, Cephalins, Plasmalogens come under this category.
    2. Sphingolipids
      These contain the base sphingosine or dihydrosphingosine in addition to glycerol and fatty acids.
    3. Glycolipids
      Complex lipids containing carbohydrates in combination with fatty acids and sphingosine (Cerebrosides, Gangliosides and Cytolipin).
    4. Sulpholipids
      These contain sulphuric acid in combination with hexose in a cerebroside.

  3. Waxes
    These are ester of fatty acids and long – chain aliphatic alcohols.

  4. Derived Lipids
    They include fatty acids, alcohols, and sterols.
Last modified: Wednesday, 8 February 2012, 9:14 AM