Dentition Classification

Human Physiology

Lesson 18 : Dentition

Dentition Classification

Based on shape and their location teeth are classified into four groups:bbg

  1. Incisors: have a chisel shaped crown with single root and used for biting and cutting of food.
  2. Canines or Cuspids: have a pointed crown with a long single root. They are used for tearing the food.
  3. Premolars or bicuspids: have a broader crown with one or two roots and used for grinding of food.
  4. Molars or Multicuspids: have much broader crown surface with two or three roots. These are used for grinding and crushing the food.

Last modified: Tuesday, 10 April 2012, 7:25 AM