The structure of WTO

Food Standard and Quality Control

Lesson 31: World Trade Organization

The structure of WTO

Highest Level:Ministerial Conference
The Ministerial Conference is the topmost body of the WTO, which meets every two years. It brings together all the members of WTO.

Second Level:General Council
The General Council of the WTO is the highest level decision making body in Geneva, which meets regularly to carry out the functions of WTO.

Third Level:Council for Trade
The Workings of GATT, which covers international trade in goods, are the responsibility of the Council of Trade.

Fourth Level:Subsidiary Bodies
There are subsidiary bodies under the various councils dealing with specific subjects such as agriculture, subsidies, market access etc.


Last modified: Thursday, 22 March 2012, 4:48 AM