Human Physiology

Lesson 27 : Female Reproductive System -I


Pregnancy- is period during which fetus is developed into uterus.

Lactation- is period during which mammary gland produces milk.

Sexual maturity- is age which gonads start producing respective sex gametes.

Graffian follicle- is ovarian structure containing developing ovum.

Corpus Luteum- is ovarian structure producing progesterone.

Estrogen- female sex hormone secreted from follicles of ovary.

Progesterone- female sex hormone secreted from corpus luteum of ovary.

Gonadotropins- are follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) and leutinizing hormones(LH) from anterior pituitary and acts on ovaries and testes.

Colostrum- is first milk secreted from mammary glands just after parturition glands just after parturition up to 24-36 hours. It is rich in antibodies against diseases.

Ovum: also called oocyte is haploid female sex cell involved in fertilization.

Ovaries: are primary female sex glands responsible for ovum production and female sex hormones.

Placenta: is special structure formed during pregnancy from cells of mother’s uterus and fetal membranes for the exchange of nutrients and waste products between mother and fetus.

Meiosis: is reductional cell division resulting in production of haploid sex gametes in ovaries and testes.

Prenatal: Period of fetus before birth i.e. in mother’s uterus.

Postnatal: Period of one’s life after birth.

Embryo: Growing young one within uterus in Free State i.e. not attached to uterus wall.

Fetus: Growing young one within uterus in attached to uterine wall.

Infant: Young one immediately after birth up to first few months of age.

Last modified: Tuesday, 10 April 2012, 11:02 AM