Components Of The Municipal Health Services

Health Hygiene & Sanitation

Lesson 44 : Municipal Health Services

Components Of The Municipal Health Services

The nine components of the Municipal Health Services include:
  1. Monitoring water quality and availability;
  2. Food control;
  3. Waste management;
  4. Health surveillance of premises;
  5. Surveillance and prevention of communicable diseases, excluding immunizations;
  6. Vector control;
  7. Environmental pollution control ;
  8. Disposal of the dead;
  9. Chemical safety.

The three Environmental Health services retained as provincial responsibilities are:

  1. Port health services;
  2. Control of major hazardous substances;
  3. Malaria control.
Last modified: Friday, 27 April 2012, 11:13 AM