1) The 4-Food Group plan

The 4-Food Group plan
  • The 4-food group plan was developed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture in 1956. The 4 food groups together with their nutrient contribution are given in table.
1. Milk group
Milk, cheese, ice cream
(cheese and ice cream can replace part milk)
Calcium, Phosphorus, Proteins and Vitamins.
2. Meat group
Beef, veal, pork, lamb, poultry, fish, eggs
Proteins, Phosphorus, Iron and B-Vitamins
3. Vegetable-fruit group Vitamins, Minerals and Fibre
4. Broad-Cereals group
(Whole grain, enriched, restored)
Thiamine (B1), Niacin (B5) Riboflavin, Iron, Carbohydrates and Fibre.

Last modified: Monday, 18 June 2012, 6:47 AM